protein-packed-buckwheat crepes

Sweet crepes are a staple in our household and healthier crepe batters has always intrigued me, but, I hadn’t made any effort until recently.  The nutrients in buckwheat flour and its historical use in crepe batter made me want to give them a try.

 So, how did they turn out?

Well, they were subtly nutty…

                                                                                                                                …paired well with humus and a simple bell pepper-red onion-garlic-sautee : )
Best part? …being able to share it with my sweet friend, Sarah!

Here’s the recipe that I used (its vegan/dairy free):

2 Cups water
2 teaspoons canola oil
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup buckwheat flour
1/2 teaspoon salt

1. Combine water and 2 teaspoons of the oil.
2. Whisk in both flours and salt.
3. Set skillet on stove on med-high heat, let it get hot before coating with cooking spray (I recommend a non-stick skillet–not scratched up of course, if the teflon is coming off it’s time to get rid of the skillet)
4. Use 1/4 cup of batter per crepe (depending on desired thickness) and spread evenly
5. Cook for about 1-2 minutes on one side and then flip, wait for the batter to bubble up and then flip the crepe over for about 30 secs to a minute.

I saw this recipe on the NY Times a couple of years ago and am planning to try it next.

6 thoughts on “protein-packed-buckwheat crepes

  1. Thanks for this post. I’ll have to give this a try sometime. Crepes are a staple in our house too. I have more recipes for sweet and savory Parisian style crepes if you are interested.

    • Yes, I would love that! One of our favorite things to do in France was getting crepes from street vendors, so I am always in search of great crepe recipes.
      A French exchange student gave me this one: 1 cup milk, 1 cup flour, 2 eggs (I use 4 egg whites), 1/3 cup water, 2 tbs sugar, 1 tbs bourbon vanilla. It is currently my favorite l because it produces a drier spongy texture that reminded me of the crêpes I had in Paris. Is yours similar? Please do share!

      • Yes that does look quite similar! I use those ingredients and in the same ratio you listed, but I also use 2 tbsp melted butter and add 1 tbsp liqueur such as Cointreau, brandy, or amaretto. This makes the crepes cook beautifully golden brown and adds a little more complexity the sweet flavor. A trick to a perfect crepe is to combine all ingredients in a blender and then let the batter sit in the fridge for 1-2 hours before cooking.

        For a delicious chocolate crepe, use 3/4 cup flour and 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa (instead of 1 cup flour), and use 1/4 cup powdered sugar (instead of 2 tbsp granulated sugar).

        For a savory crepe, use 2 eggs, 1 cup milk, 1/3 cup water, 1/4 tsp salt, and 2 tbsp melted butter.

        To make the basic savory crepe into an awesome herbed crepe, add 1/4 cup minced fresh chives, basil, or flat leaf parsley to the basic recipe. Sun dried tomato crepes are also amazing. Add 1/4 cup minced oil-packed sundried tomatoes to the crepe batter while blending.

        Enjoy!

  2. yum! so are these the same texture/consistency as your regular crepes? we went to a place in Paris where all the crepes were buckwheat ones. They were almost too crisp/then though, and didn’t fill you up the same way that regular (spongier) crepes do.

    • We didn’t get to try and buckwheat crepes while in France, so you’ll have to let me know how these compare. They are similar in consistency and texture, but I had to watch the heat. For my stove, if I let them cook about 2 minutes on medium, they come out spongy—but they are smoother and crispier on the edges. If you try these, you’ll have to let me know what you think.

Tell me what you think : )

