terrarium project and the autumn agenda

I made my first terrarium in the third grade but, when the plants died I gave up on horticulture. Helping with the community garden has rekindled my interest.  In fact, I’ve been toying with the idea of creating a terrarium for quite sometime, but kept it to myself because I felt silly. This summer I took some steps and made a non-living terrarium out of: dollar-store moss, paper napkins, and branches I found in the neighborhood.

I had a pretty vivid imagination as a child--I frequently pictured fairies and elves living in miniature worlds such as these...

I have aspirations of adding to this whimsical world with Emmy as she grows, changing the scenery with the seasons. So far, I’ve only managed to make a few little toadstools using paper napkins:

Have you ever noticed that soggy paper napkins dry semi-firm? Well, it just so happens that I had short stack of napkins that were slightly dampened with water so I "upcycled" them into these toadstools via 3 simple steps: 1. Thoroughly wet thin paper napkins . 2. Shape them into a 'stalk' and a 'rounded cap' 3. Let dry and glue together--viola! biodegradable toadstools for living/non-living terrariums : )

simple acrylic craft paints will do--they are water based and largely considered non-toxic...

I painted a coat of red first, then added the dots...

Well, this Fall I want to put together a living terrarium ( with plants that I hope to keep alive). Luckily, Lane is planning to tackle this project with me! Anyone else want to join?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

While I am always bursting at the seams with projects and ideas for more I seriously need to focus. Here goes the abridged list!

  • Sewing:
    I’ve never sewn anything before (without help) and as previously mentioned I have a fondness for ribbon and recently discovered that Emmy does too!

    she got into my ribbon stash while I wasn't looking--sneaky.

    caught red-handed! ha!

    a nervous chuckle and coo later...

    She actually loves chewing on tags so I plan on sewing ribbons onto this fabric:

    it is quasi-mapped out--i may opt to go with just two colors of ribbon around the edges with one being the accent color...

    This ‘tag-blankie’ was inspired by Lotta’s Simple Sewing for Baby (thanks, Emily for the extended book loan!). Only thing is, I think I might be doing this by hand (yikes!).

  • Gifts for soon-to-be mums and babes:
    There are so many people I know that are expecting this season!
  • Costume for Emmy:
    …a plethora of ideas, but only time will tell which I decide to settle on : )
  • Owl bookends:
    This project is hard to describe, and I haven’t anywhere — but it’s in my mind, and I will blog about it when I finish.
  • Photography:
    At one point in my life, I was never without a camera (before the days of digital cameras, I carried a disposable one everywhere I went…craazy!). I suppose I let my desire to ‘capture the moment’ keep me from enjoying moments, so I stopped, but now I think time to resurrect the habit! This time, I want to actually learn how to use Daniel’s DSLR — Breezy‘s already given me a few pointers, but I still have so much to learn! Maybe it will improve the quality of photos I post? suggestions?
  • Knitting:
    There are many many things on my bucket list but, knitting on there So, thanks to Lana, I have begun but, am having trouble keeping the consistent stitches. tips?
  • Getting settled in the new home (painting, decor…etc):
    This will include lots of little projects (probably like the ones in this former post)
  • Hosting more creativity-events.
That’s it for now. Yes, I have gotten started on all of these projects and Daniel will inevitably be helping with many of them! So stay tuned to see our progress!

I did let her continue to explore the ribbons, she was very intrigued...

I love the innocence of little ones, how they take such pleasure in the simplest of things….
3 thoughts on “terrarium project and the autumn agenda

  1. Sounds like a busy Fall season for ya! It’ll be fun to read your posts.

    I never used a SLR until my point and shoot got stolen :( So I had to use Jeff’s SLR. Am still learning how to finagle the thing, but my advice is to experiment a lot, and shoot in natural lighting (so much easier to handle the settings this way, and makes your pics look the best). I’m sure they’ll turn out great.

Tell me what you think : )

